Chicken and Corn Soup

I have been making this beautiful nourishing soup for years now. Way before I had babies and I’m so grateful I have this up my sleeve. There is something satisfying about watching your children eat food that is so good for their little tummies (when they eat it that is! ha!) and I promise yours will LOVE this recipe!

My Chicken and Corn soup in the slow cooker.

Chicken and Corn Soup.
One whole free range chook (if in a hurry use a bbq chook).1 average size Sweet Potato peeled and diced.

2 Brown Onions Diced.

2 Celery stalks diced. You can use the leaves also if you like.

1 Large or 2 small Carrots peeled and diced.

3 cans of Corn Kernals.

3 cans of Creamed Corn (if you like). (Any other veg you like that is a root vegetable can he added if you have it lying around. I often add Broccoli).

2 Tablespoons of Fresh Rosemary leaves finely chopped.

2 Sprigs of fresh Thyme leaves pulled off the stalk.

2 teaspoons of dried Marojam. 

You can add 1 cup of soup mixture to make it more stew like and thicker.


Method:
Place ALL ingredients except for broccoli and tins of corn in the slow cooker.
Add 2 litres of stock/ broth.

Cook until perfect!
While hot add fresh broccoli and cans of corn. Stir and serve hot with fresh crusty bread or freeze for another time.

*note- buying the whole chook is good. Slow cook on high for 4 hours with a drizzle of Olive Oil and season well. The carcass can then be used to make your stock/broth.

Jennifer X

Leave a comment